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RECEIVED 
OCT 13  2015 

Ohio Attorney General Constitutional Offices Section 

Honorable Mike DeWine 
Ohio Attorney General 
30 E. Broad Street, 16

th Floor 
Columbus, Ohio 43215 

Attorney General De Wine: 

On behalf of Stand Up Ohio and pursuant to Ohio Rev. Code§ 3519.0l(A), I am filing a 
petition to approve a summary of a constitutional amendment to be proposed by initiative 
petition. The petition contains 3398 signatures of electors on 166 part petitions and the summary 
and full text of the law to be proposed. A I ist of the number of part petitions and signatures by 
cow1ty is also attached for your convenience. 

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me. 
Sincerely, 

Cathrine J. Harshman 

http://www.hcands.com


Stand Up for Ohio Part Petitions 

County Number of Part Petitions Number of Signatures 
Carroll County 4 65 

Columbiana County 51 1201 

Cuyahoga County 87 1799 

Fairfield County 1 1 

Jefferson County 4 45 

Lake County 2 5 

Logan County 1 3 
Lorain County 2 9 
Mahoning County 4 66 

Muskingum County 1 1 

Portage County 1 2 

Stark County 3 65 

Summit County 3 29 

Trumbull County 1 5 

Wayne County 1 2 
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RECEIVED 
  OCT 1 3 1015   
Ohio Attorney Cieneral 

Constltutlonal Offices Section 

Number: 132 County: 

INITIATIVE PETITION 

To the Attorney General ofOhio:Pursuant to Ohio Revised Code §3519.0l(A), the undersigned electors of the 
State of Ohio, numbering in excess of one thousand, hereby submit to you the full text of a proposed Amendment to 
the Ohio Constitution and a summary of the same. 

TITLE 

The Ohio Fair Wage Amendment 

SUMMARY 

This proposed amendment will amend existing Article II, Section 34a of the Ohio Constitution, which establishes a 
state minimum wage rate. Specifically, this amendment will: 

• Increase the minimum wage to $10.00 per hour on January 1, 2017. The minimum wage will increase by 
fifty cents per hour every following January 1st until it reaches $12.00 per hour in 2021. After that, it will 
be annually adjusted for inflation consistent with existing law. 

• Change existing law, which allows employers to pay tipped employees half of the full minimum wage 
when employees earn the full minimum wage when tips are included, to require employers to pay tipped 
employees at least $6.00 per hour beginning January 1, 2017 when employees earn the full minimum wage 
when tips are included. 

o The amount that employers must pay tipped employees will be increased by $1.00 per hour every 
following January 1st until the wage paid to tipped employees by their employer matches the full 
minimum wage. 

o If the wage paid to tipped employees by an employer requires an annual increase of less than 
$1.00 per hour to match the full minimum wage, the annual increase will only be for the amount 
required to match the full minimum wage. 

o Once the amount paid by the employer equals the full minimum wage, it will increase every 
January 1st based on the rnte of inflation consistent with existing law. 

COMMITTEE TO REPRESENT THE PETITIONERS 

The following persons are designated as a committee to represent the petitioners in all matters relating to the petition 
or its circulation: 

Troy Jackson 526 Howell Ave. Cincinnati, OH 45220 
KirkNoden 4254 Lakewood Rd. Ravenna, OH 44266 
Molly Shack 2581 East 5th Ave. Columbus, OH 43219 
Jennifer Toles 4 73 Ardella Ave. Akron, .OH 44306 
Pastor Michael Harrison 4185 Ledgewater Dr. Mogadore, OH 44260 
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FULL TEXT OF PROPOSED AMENDMENT 

Be it Resolved by the People of the State of Ohio that Article II of the Ohio Constitution is hereby amended to add 
the following language to Section 34a shown underlined below, and repeals the existing language shown by 
strikethrough. Current language that is not changed appears without underline or strikethrough: 

Article II, Section 34a Minimum Wage 

Except as provided in this section, every employer shall pay their employees a wage rate of not less than 
six dollars and eighty-five cents per hour beginning January 1, 2007; not less than ten dollars per hour 
beginning January 1, 2017; not less than ten dollars and fifty cents per hour begi11ning in January I, 2018: 
not less than eleven dollars per hour beginning January I, 2019; not less than eleven dollars and fifty cents 
per hour beginning January 1, 2020; and not less than twelve dollars per hour beginning January 1, 2021. 
On the thirtieth day of each September, beginning in 20 21, this state minimum wage rate shall be 
increased effective the first day of the following January by the rate of inflation for the twelve month 
period prior to that September according to the consumer price index or its successor index for all urban 
wage earners and clerical workers for all items as calculated by the federal government rounded to the 
nearest five cents. Employees under the age of sixteen and employees of businesses with annual gross 
receipts of two hundred fifty thousand dollars or less for the preceding calendar year shall be paid a wage 
rate of not less than that established under the federal Fair Labor Standards Act or its successor law. This 
gross revenue figure shall be increased each year beginning January 1, 2008 by the change in the consumer 
price index or its successor index in the same manner as the required annual adjustment in the minimum 
wage rate set forth above rounded to the nearest one thousand dollars. Prior to January I, 2017, an 
employer may pay an employee less than, but not less than half, the minimum wage rate required by this 
section, if the employer is able to demonstrate that the employee receives tips that combined with the 
wages paid by the employer are equal to or greater than the minimum wage rate for all hours worked. 
Beginning January 1. 2017, an employer may pay an employee less than the minimwn wage rate requirnd 
by this section, if the employer is able to demonstrate that the employee receives tip that combined with 
wages paid by the employer are equal to or greater than the minimum wage r. te required by this section for 
all hour worked, except that the hourly wage paid by the employer to a such a tipped employee shall not 
be less than six dollars per hour, and sta1ting January 1, 2018, and on each January 1 st thereafter, this hourly 
wage paid by an employer to a tipped employee shall be increased by an additional one dollar per hour until 
it reaches the annually adjusted state minimum wage rate established in this section. If less than a dollar per 
hour is necessary for the wages paid by Lhe employer to the tipped employee to equal the annually adjusted 
state minimum wage rate required by this section. then the hourly wage shall be increased that year only by 
the amount required to equal the annually adjusted state minimum wage rate. Once the hourly wage paid by 
an employer to a tipped employee is equa J to the annually adjusted state minimum wage. it- sha11 thereafter 
be increased by the rate of inflation in the same manner as provided for in this section. The provisions of 
this section shall not apply to employees of a solely family owned and operated business who are family 
members of an owner. The state may issue licenses to employers authorizing payment of a wage rate below 
that required by this section to individuals with mental or physical disabilities that may otherwise adversely 
affect their opportunity for employment. 

As used in this section: "employer," "employee," "employ," "person" and "independent contractor" have the 
same meanings as under the federal Fair Labor Standards Act or its successor law, except that "employer" 
shall also include the state and every political subdivision and "employee" shall not include an individual 
employed in or about the property of the employer or individual's residence on a casual basis. Only the 
exemptions set forth in this section shall apply to this section. 

An employer shall at the time of hire provide an employee the employer's name, address, telephone 
number, and other contact information and update such information when it changes. An employer shall 
maintain a record of the name, address, occupation, pay rate, hours worked for each day worked and each 
amount paid an employee for a period of not less than three years following the last date the employee was 
employed. Such information shall be provided without charge to an employee or person acting on behalf of 
an employee upon request. An employee, person acting on behalf of one or more employees and/or any 
other interested party may file a complaint with the state for a violation of any provision of this section or 
any law or regulation implementing its provisions. Such complaint shall be promptly investigated and 
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resolved by 'the state. The employee's name hall be kept confidential unless di c los-ure is necessary to 
resolution f a  complaint and the employee consent to di c l  sure. The state may on its own initiative 
investigate a.n employer's compl iance wirb this section and any law or regu lation implementing i ts 
provisions. The employer shal l  make available to the state any records related to uch invesligation and 
0U1er infonnation required for enforcement f this section or any law or regulation implementing its 
prov1s1ons. o emp)oyer shaU discharge or in any other manner d iscriminate or retal iate against an 
cmp Ioyee for exercising any right under this section or any law or regulation implementing its provi i ns or 
against any person for providing assistance to an employee or infonnation regarding the same. 

An action for equitable and moneta1y rellef may be brought against an e,mployer by the attorney general 
and/or an employee or person acting on behalf of an employee or .a l l  similarly sihiatcd employees in any 
court of competent juri diction, i_ncluding the common pleas court of an employee's county of residence, for 
any v io lation of this section or any law or regtdation implementing its provisions within three years of the 
violation or of when the violation ceased if it was of a continuing natt.1Je, or within one year after 
notification to the employee of final disposition by the state of a complaint for the same violation, 
whichever is later. There haU be no exhaustion requirement, no procedural pleading or burden of proof 
requirements beyond those that apply generally to civil sui t  in order to maintain such action and no 
l iability for costs or attorney's fees on an employee except upon a finding that such action was frivolous in  
accordance with the same standards that apply generally in  civi l  uits. Where an employer is found by the 
state or a court to have violated any provision of this section, U1e employer shall with.in thirty days of the 
finding pay the employee back wages, damages and the employee's co ts and reasonable attorney's fees. 
Damages shall be calculated as an additional two t imes the amount of the back wages and in the case of a 
violation of an anti-retaliation provision an amount set by the state or court sufficient to compensate the 
employee and deter future vio lations bm not less than one hundred fifty dollars for each day that the 
violation continued. Payment Linder thi paragraph shall not be stayed pending any appeal. 

This section shall be liberally construed in favor of its purposes. Laws may be passed to implement its 
provisions and create additional remedies, increase .the minimum wage rate and extend the coverage of the 
section, but in no manner restricting any JJrovision of the section or the power of municipalities under 
Article XVJ J T  of this constitution with respect ro fhe ame. 

If any part of this section is held invalid, the remainder of the section shall not be affected by such holding 
and shall continue in full force and effect. 
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STATEMENT OF CIRCULATOR 

I,  declare under penalty of election falsification 
that I am the circulator of the foregoing petition paper containing the signatures of electors,  that the signatures 
appended hereto were made and appended in my presence on the date set opposite each respective name, and are the 
signatures of the persons whose names they purport to be or of attorneys in fact acting pursuant to section 3501 .382 of 
the Revised Code, and that the electors signing this petition did so with knowledge of the contents of same. I am 
employed to circulate this petition by: 

(Name and address of employer). (The preceding sentence shall be completed as required by section 3501 .38 of the 
Revised Code if the circulator is being employed to circulate the petition.) 

I further declare under penalty of election falsification that I witnessed the affixing of every signature to the foregoing 
petition paper, that all signers were to the best ofmy knowledge and belief qualified to sign, and that every signature is to 
the best ofmy knowledge and belief the signature of the person whose signature it purports to be or ofan attorney in fact 
acting pursuant to section 3501 .382 of the Revised Code. 

(Signed) 

( Address of circulator' s permanent residence in this state) 
Number and Street, Road or Rural Route 

City, Village or Township 

State Zip Code 

WHOEVER COMMITS ELECTION FALSIFICATION IS 
GUILTY OF A FELONY OF THE FIFTH DEGREE. 
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